Cornelia, GA

Our guide to Cornelia, GA. Restaurants, events, places to stay and things to do.

ROAD TRIP TO: The BEST of Cornelia and Clarkesville

Drive to the quaint cities of Clarkesville and Cornelia to discover one of the most historic towns in northeast Georgia. Visitors are welcomed in both towns with walking friendly brick lined streets to see shops, restaurants, galleries, and antique stores to feel that small town atmosphere. Habersham County takes pride in it’s community by preserving history and natural resources of outdoor recreational parks. Clarkesville Mauldin House - at the corner of E. Waters & Jefferson Street. This large Victorian cottage and adjacent millinery shop date from the late nineteenth century. It serves as Clarkesville’s Welcome Center and the beginning of a walking tour of the Greek, Gothic, Victorian, & Plantation style homes in this beautiful historical district. Scenic Hwy 197 Sam Pitts Park - beside the beautiful Soque River for walking trails, picnic, and playground. Soque River – This winding drive follows the unique tributary of the Chattahoochee River and is over 28 miles long. Use caution as you travel, as at one point on Scenic 197 there will be a dip in the road (clearly marked by a road sign) where the river can flow over the road, this is humorously known as a “Low Bridge”. Many trout fisherman love this watershed, as the Soque River‘s cold temperatures are the secret to the large Rainbow, Brook, & Brown trout that inhabit it. Batesville – has a General Store several area galleries of regional handmade arts and crafts. Mark of the Potter is a scenic and historic grist mill was built in the 1930’s and has a beautiful 25 foot falls from the Soque River that flow beside it. Cornelia The Chenocetah Fire Tower is the last rock-constructed, working fire lookout tower in the east. Built by the WPA (Works Progress Administration) in 1936 for the Chattahoochee National Forest, the stone tower is 40 feet high and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Downtown Cornelia Train Depot as the original terminal was damaged in a fire, and rebuilt in 1914 to it’s current appearance. Inside the terminal is a museum of early railroad memorabilia, model of the Tallulah Falls train, and two restored cabooses by the depot. The “Big Red Apple,” stands near the train depot as a monument that is seven feet tall, 22 ft. in circumference and weighs 5200 lbs. It was shipped from Virginia in 1926 to celebrate the apple industry. Loudermilk Boarding House on Foreacre St. Built in 1908 and listed on The National Register of Historic Places features Joni Mabe’s Panoramic Encyclopedia of Everything Elvis. Lake Russell Recreational Area is situated along the peaceful shore of the 100-acre Lake Russell, this developed recreation area offers 42 campsites that accommodate both tent and RV camping and a picnic shelter with seating for 30 is available on a first come first serve basis. Hiking trails are available year-round and a 4.6 mile loop goes around the shore of this beautiful 100-acre lake.

ROAD TRIP TO: The BEST of Cornelia and Clarkesville2020-08-31T12:45:15-05:00
Go to Top